Across the Wall

Tale of the Abhorsen & Other Stories

About the Book

Nicholas Sayre will do anything to get across the Wall.

Thoughts of Lirael and Sam haunt his dreams, and he has come to realize that his destiny lies with them, in the Old Kingdom. But here in Ancelstierre, Nick faces an obstacle that is not entirely human, with a strange power that seems to come from Nicholas himself.

With “Nicholas Sayre and the Creature in the Case”, Garth Nix continues to explore the magical world of the Abhorsen Trilogy. In additional short stories that range from two widely different takes on the Merlin myth to a gritty urban version of Hansel and Gretel and a heartbreaking story of children and war, Garth Nix displays the range and versatility that has made him one of today’s leading writers of fantasy for readers of all ages.

A list of stories in Across the Wall can be found below.

Buy the Book

  • Buy on Apple Books
  • Buy for Kindle
  • Buy on Book Depository
  • Buy on Google Play
  • Buy on Kobo
  • Buy on Waterstones (UK)
  • Buy on Booktopia
  • Buy on Indigo Chapters

What people are saying...

“Readers of the author’s bestselling Abhorsen trilogy will find themselves right at home in this horror/fantasy/mystery…”

— School Library Journal

“Fans will … find a nice range of writing from one of the leading fantasy writers at work today.”

— Kirkus Reviews

This collection includes...

  • “Nicholas Sayre and the Creature in the Case” first published for World Book Day, 2005
  • “Under the Lake” first published in “The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction”, 2001
  • “Charlie Rabbit” first published in Kids’ Night In, collected for War Child, 2005
  • “From the Lighthouse” first published in Fantastic Worlds, edited by Paul Collins, 1996
  • “The Hill” first published in X-Changes: Stories for a New Century, 2001
  • “Lightning Bringer” first published in Love & Sex, edited by Michael Cart, 2001
  • “Down to the Scum Quarter” first published in “Myths and Legends” (1987) and “Breakout!” magazine (1988)
  • “Heart’s Desire” first published in “The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction”, 2002
  • “Hansel’s Eyes” first published in A Wolf at the Door edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, 2000
  • “Hope Chest” first published in Firebirds, edited by Sharyn November, 2003
  • “My New Really Epic Fantasy Series” first published in the Swancon Program Book, 1999
  • “Three Roses” first published in “Eidolon” magazine, Autumn 2000.
  • “Endings” first published in Gothic! Ten Original Dark Tales, edited by Deborah Noyes, 2004